Maybelline “Blue Blowout” & Revlon “Radiant” Mani / Review

 

Maybe calling this blog “I love glitter” would have been more appropriate – because….I LOVE GLITTER!!

When I was younger, I had a boyfriend who used to call me a “marketers dream”.  And as long as it is marketed with glitter and sparkles, I suppose he was right 🙂

 

While traveling through the Walmart makeup area, I spotted a couple of very pretty blue polishes (keep in mind BLUE) – and seeing as they were not super expensive brands, and even less expensive being from Walmart – I grabbed them.

Maybelline Color Show Metallics “Blue Blowout” and Revlon’s 441 “Radiant”

And here is how the manicure turned out!!

Everything I used (including glue base AND Gelous Gel base)

 

 

I used the Maybelline Blue Blowout as the base, and Revlon Radiant on top of that.  Except on my ring finger, which was Essence “via airmail” base color, and topped with Zoya “Maisie” flakies.

 

 

Revlon Radiant is a nice blue glitter – which I don’t see a lot of.  It has a little bit of silver and green glitter thrown in, but is mainly blue – and it took 3 coats for a full (but not opaque) coverage.  The glitter does go on evenly, but very sparse.

 

As for Maybelline Blue Blowout….

Remember, I mentioned to keep in mind that this was a BLUE manicure, and that I used 2 different base coats prior to starting with anything else….

 

 

Ack!!!   What is going on!!??  Obviously, this has to do with the new Maybelline, because the Revlon did not have any color to it, except the actual glitter pieces.  And the finger I used Essence and Zoya on, is still the original yucky yellow.

 

So, I used lemon, and toothpaste, and acetone…..

 

And I still have blue fingernails!!!

At least they aren’t quite as bad as when I first removed the polish, but still…blue?  Most people understand why your fingernails are yellow if you go out without polish (whaaa????) – but with blue…I just look sick.

(my fingers look wet, because I was soaking them in olive oil….the poor things were so dry from the lemon, toothpaste and acetone)

 

I suppose, my last words on this would be – if you really must use Maybelline’s Blue Blowout (it is a really nice looking polish….sigh…) use as many layers of base coat as you are patient enough for.  MAYBE that will help.  As for my bottle….my son can use it to paint with.

12 thoughts on “Maybelline “Blue Blowout” & Revlon “Radiant” Mani / Review

  1. thenailluxxe says:

    You’re welcome 🙂 Using a very fine file found on most buffers should help. But I’m happy to hear they’re getting better.

    How we do our nails is all trial and error, some things work for some ppl, other things don’t. So this is only my experience but I’ve found that you have to create a barrier between the nail and anything you’re using. By putting the glue on first there was no protection between the glue and your nail. So if the colour were to seep through the basecoat (which it cruelly did) then your natural nails were unprotected as glue offered no protection.

    Maybe try a basecoat and then the glue?? Maybe try three layers of another basecoat?? IDK, like I said its trial and error. Hopefully one day we’ll figure it out 😀

    • That makes total sense! Thank you – that hadn’t occurred to me until you just mentioned it – but glue must not create much of a barrier, so it should not go on first.
      Thank you, again 🙂

  2. thenailluxxe says:

    Out of curiosity, which basecoat did you use? I’m asking because I had a stain situation despite using two coats and it shocked me. It wasn’t blue tho. I really feel for you 😦
    Also try and buff them next week when they’ve had a bit of a rest. That should get some more off

    • I will try the buffing – great idea 🙂 Thanks!

      The base coats were, first the regular glue base (for glitter removal later) and Gelous Gel Coat. I can see the color seeping through the glue, but the Gelous base is supposed to be a hard core product.

  3. I have that Revlon glitter – Radiant, I actually wrote a post about it. I love it! One of my fave! Sorry you had a bad experience with the Maybelline! Hope your nails recover quickly! Great manicure. 🙂

  4. Danette says:

    The mani is beautiful! I can’t believe it stained your nails so bad though. Ack!

  5. I got the same pukey blue nails after using Sally Hansen’s Insta Dri, it stained right through my base coat, I think the shade name was brisk blue, anyway it was about three weeks ago I used it and my nails are still blue. 😦

  6. I love how his mani turned out! And I’m so sorry for your smurfy nails!

What would you like to say?

