Nail Stain Removal Experiment

 

Never, have I admitted to being the sharpest knife in the drawer….so, foolishly…I have forgotten to use a proper base coat while using those intense pinks, greens, blues etc.  You know the ones…they seep into your nails and the residual color makes your nails look like you haven’t bathed in months.  Yeah, that’s what my nails look like under the pretty nail polish.

 

So, The past few weeks I have been experimenting with natural “yellow removing techniques”.

My results!!

This is what they looks like after a good scrubbing, and prior to any attempts at removing the yellow.  (I swear they really are not dirty!  I scrubbed and scraped the edges and under the nails, just to make sure they were as clean as they would get)

My first experiment was lemon juice.

Next experiment, was scrubbing whitening toothpaste twice daily.

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

And then the tragic blue nail fiasco happened.

So, within about an hour I tried, lemon juice, toothpaste, acetone, denture stain removal.  Oh my goodness, my poor fingers!!

And much to many peoples horror, I’m sure….I tried Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.

Surprise, of surprises – this might be the best they have looked in weeks!!

But alas…all of the things that got me to this point – ruined my nails, and they were flaking, cracking and just not in nice shape at all.

So, off they went!  I cut them alllllll the way down, as far as my skin would allow.

And my next experiment/post will be all about growing them back 🙂

(I’m starting to feel like a mad scientist…lol)

Stay tuned!

One thought on “Nail Stain Removal Experiment

  1. missgreyshus says:

    Awww. Thanks for sharing. This really helps to Nail Polish lovers out there!
    Hope you could grow your nails lovely again! 🙂

    http://missgreyshus.wordpress.com/

What would you like to say?

